Learning & Teaching

Learning & Teaching

At St. Margaret’s, we empower students to become lifelong learners equipped to face life with hope, faith and resilience. We believe our quality learning and teaching caters for a variety of learning styles.

St. Margaret’s uses the Victorian Curriculum framework.

The design of the Victorian Curriculum F–10 is set out below:

Learning areas

The Arts

  • Dance

  • Drama

  • Media Arts

  • Music

  • Visual Arts

  • Visual Communication Design


Health and Physical Education

The Humanities

  • Civics and Citizenship

  • Economics and Business

  • Geography

  • History





  • Design and Technologies

  • Digital Technologies


Critical and Creative Thinking



Personal and Social

The Levels from F-10 are set out as follows:

Visit the Victorian Curriculum website: http://victoriancurriculum.vcaa.vic.edu.au/

At St. Margaret’s we believe that the Principles of Learning and Teaching (POLT) are paramount to the fulfilment and success of each child. We use the POLT to provide a scaffold for teachers to assist them auditing their practice, making decisions regarding the learning environment they create, identifying a focus for their professional learning and generating professional discussions.

Students learn best when:

1. The learning environment is supportive and productive.

2. The learning environment promotes independence, interdependence and self motivation.

3. Students' needs, backgrounds, perspectives and interests are reflected in the learning program.

4. Students are challenged and supported to develop deep levels of thinking and application.

5. Assessment practices are an integral part of teaching and learning.

6. Learning connects strongly with communities and practice beyond the classroom.